Short Law group, P.C.
Free Consultations - Se Habla Español
503-747-7198

What is a DUII charge in the state of Oregon?

It is often a stressful situation for motorists when they are stopped by a police officer following a presumed traffic violation or an automobile accident. Drivers in Oregon often consider what types of traffic violations they could be charged with and what types of penalties they could face. In some cases, this could only amount to a warning or a fine; however, for more serious offenses, a driver could lose their privilege to drive for a period of time, and endure other harsh penalties such as hefty fines and jail time. If officers believe that a driver has an intoxicating substance in their system, he or she could face with a DUII charge.

It is often a stressful situation for motorists when they are stopped by a police officer following a presumed traffic violation or an automobile accident. Drivers in Oregon often consider what types of traffic violations they could be charged with and what types of penalties they could face. In some cases, this could only amount to a warning or a fine; however, for more serious offenses, a driver could lose their privilege to drive for a period of time, and endure other harsh penalties such as hefty fines and jail time. If officers believe that a driver has an intoxicating substance in their system, he or she could face with a DUII charge.

What is a DUII charge in the state of Oregon? Under Oregon law, DUII stands for driving under the influence of intoxicants. An individual commits this offense if they are diving a vehicle and have a 0.08 percent or more blood-alcohol content; is under the influence of intoxicating liquor, a controlled substance or an inhalant; or is under the influence of any combination of these three.

A DUII conviction is considered a Class A misdemeanor; however, a DUII could be a Class C felony if the offense was committed in a motor vehicle and the person had at least three prior convictions in the previous 10 years. Penalties for a DUII could include a fine and a term of imprisonment. For the first conviction, an individual faces a minimum of a $1,000 fine, while a second conviction carries a minimum fine of $1,500. A third, or subsequent convictions, carry a minimum $2,000 fine if the offender is not sentenced to a term of imprisonment.

If a breath test or blood test reveals that the accused has a 0.15 percent BAC while driving a vehicle, he or she will incur a minimum fine of $2,000. The maximum fine a driver could face for a DUII conviction is $10,000. That is if the offense was committed in a motor vehicle and there was a passenger in the vehicle that was under 18-years-old, but at least three years younger than the driver charged with the DUII.

A DUII could cause an Oregon motorist to endure serious and harsh penalties. Therefore, it is important to initiate a defense following a DUII charge. An experienced criminal defense attorney can help the accused scrutinize and challenge the prosecution's evidence, resulting in reduced or dismissed charges.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Two Convenient Law Offices to Serve You

Contact us to learn how we can help you overcome the challenges you face. For a free consultation with Short Law Group, call our Portland or Salem offices today at 503-747-7198. If you need an evening appointment or an interview at a police station or jail following an arrest, just let us know. Se habla español.

Portland Office
12755 SW 69th Avenue
Suite 200
Portland, OR 97223

Phone: 503-747-7198
Fax: 503-747-2951
Portland Law Office Map

Salem Office
280 Court Street NE
Suite 290
Salem, OR 97301

Phone: 503-747-7198
Fax: 503-747-2951
Salem Law Office Map

Review Us