Many Oregon residents understand the seriousness of drunk driving charges. When people are accused of drunk driving, they can face large fines, the loss of a drivers' license, jail time, employment issues and more. Avoiding these penalties is often crucial for people who have been accused of driving under the influence.
It is widely known that in Oregon, people under the age of 21 are not permitted to purchase or use alcohol. This drinking limit is in place across the United States to help keep young adults and teenagers safe. However, it is also widely understood that many young people recreationally drink alcohol. In response to this, Oregon has created a zero tolerance policy. Many may question what exactly this policy entails.
Drunk driving charges are not black-and-white. Instead, there are a variety of factors that can influence the specific charges that a person faces when arrested for driving under the influence. These factors can include the person's blood alcohol content level, the person's criminal history, if property was damaged prior to the person's arrest and if someone else was injured by the suspected drunk driver. The facts surrounding a person's arrest can, therefore, become important in a drunk driving case.
If an Oregon resident is convicted of driving under the influence, that person can face serious consequences. The penalties can include jail or prison time, large fines, alcohol education classes, ignition interlock devices, loss of drivers' licenses and more. To avoid these penalties, people need to avoid conviction. While there may be some ways to fight charges once they have been brought, the best way to avoid these penalties is avoid driving with an elevated blood alcohol content level.
A Portland man claims that he does not remember getting behind the wheel of a car after partying at his sister's house recently. According to reports, the man has told police that it was the first time in a long time that he had drank alcohol before getting into his mom's car and driving away.
Drunk driving charges are very serious in Oregon, especially if someone else is hurt by the allegedly drunk driver. When someone else is killed, the penalties increase even more. A felony conviction for intoxicated manslaughter can result in long prison sentences, large fines, probation, alcohol education classes, drivers' license revocation and more.
When people are intoxicated, they do not always make the best decisions. Intoxicants -- like drugs or alcohol -- can change people's sense of judgment and mistakes are easily made. One common mistake is getting behind the wheel of a car after having too much to drink. While normally people may see this as risky and inappropriate, intoxicated people can still make the wrong decision.
A man was recently arrested following a car accident in nearby Sandy, Oregon. According to police, the 32-year-old man was driving near the intersection of Hood Street and Beers Avenue when he hit a 41-year-old pedestrian. Following the accident, the police say the man continued to drive away.
A New Year's Day car accident has lead to drunk driving charges for one Oregon City man. According to police, they received reports of an injured man in a rest area bathroom early in the morning on New Year's Day. When police responded to the reports, they claim to have found a 22-year-old man. Police say he was injured and taken to a local hospital with serious but non-life-threatening injuries.
People who may have made the mistake of driving after having too much to drink generally want to avoid the police. If a police officer spots a potential drunk driver, the person can face serious penalties. However, if an accident -- or some other incident -- occurs and police are notified, charges will generally follow.