In a recent blog post, this blog explained that police cannot use sobriety checkpoints in Oregon. Under the current state constitution such measures are illegal. This is the result of a 1987 constitutional amendment that outlawed the practice. However, as many Portland, Oregon residents know, you can still be stopped by police for suspicion of drunk driving. Unsuspecting motorists may wonder -- when can police officers stop drivers in Oregon for driving under the influence?
Drinking alcohol is a frequent activity for many people in Oregon. Even with frequent consumption, people often don't view alcohol consumption as very dangerous. Most people, likely see it as a fun and safe recreational activity. However, if alcohol is combined with driving it can have a major impact on a person's future. This is particularly true for young people, as explained in a recent post, that fall under Oregon's zero tolerance policy.
It is widely known that in Oregon, people under the age of 21 are not permitted to purchase or use alcohol. This drinking limit is in place across the United States to help keep young adults and teenagers safe. However, it is also widely understood that many young people recreationally drink alcohol. In response to this, Oregon has created a zero tolerance policy. Many may question what exactly this policy entails.
Drunk driving charges are not black-and-white. Instead, there are a variety of factors that can influence the specific charges that a person faces when arrested for driving under the influence. These factors can include the person's blood alcohol content level, the person's criminal history, if property was damaged prior to the person's arrest and if someone else was injured by the suspected drunk driver. The facts surrounding a person's arrest can, therefore, become important in a drunk driving case.
A Portland man claims that he does not remember getting behind the wheel of a car after partying at his sister's house recently. According to reports, the man has told police that it was the first time in a long time that he had drank alcohol before getting into his mom's car and driving away.
While people may think that it could never happen to them, it is easy to be caught driving drunk. People may not even realize that they are over the legal limit until they are stopped by police. In some cases, it doesn't take that much alcohol to reach a blood alcohol content level of 0.08 percent. In some cases, people may not realize that they have had too much to drunk until it is too late. In a recent case highlighted in this blog post, a man was arrested for DUI only after apparently causing a serious car accident.
Drunk driving charges are very serious in Oregon, especially if someone else is hurt by the allegedly drunk driver. When someone else is killed, the penalties increase even more. A felony conviction for intoxicated manslaughter can result in long prison sentences, large fines, probation, alcohol education classes, drivers' license revocation and more.
A car accident in Oregon will often lead to an investigation by police. They police will try to determine why the accident occurred. If they believe that alcohol was a factor in the incident, the driver or drivers could face criminal charges for driving under the influence.
Police in Portland, Oregon, will arrest anyone they believe is driving under the influence. As a recent case shows, this also includes members of their own force. According to police, a 43-year-old sergeant with the Portland Police Department was recently arrested for DUI. Police claim that the arrest took place after the man supposedly crashed his 2014 Jetta into a yard, fence and fire hydrant, causing $5,000 worth of damage on 190th Drive at around 10:00 a.m.
Washington County, Oregon recently saw two separate car accidents that led to DUII charges for the drivers. According to police, the first accident occurred when a 26-year-old man lost control over his pickup truck. The accident allegedly took place around 4:05 p.m. on Hornecker Road near Cornelius. In the accident, police say, the truck left the roadway and flipped at least once, injuring a passenger. In this case, the driver was charged with fourth-degree assault and DUII. In the second accident, the 25-year-old driver was charged with DUII after he also lost control over a pickup truck. This accident happened around two hours after the first crash, near Gaston. Police say the truck rolled over after the driver lost control. Nobody was injured in that accident. It is unclear why police believe that either driver was drunk at the time of the accidents. To make claims, like these, police must have hard evidence of intoxication. This can include a failed field sobriety test or a blood alcohol test -- including a breath test or blood test -- with a reading over .08 percent.